Food Trickery and Healthier Sweet Potato Brownies

Yum, the sweet potato.  A Native American root vegetable packed with vitamin A, vitamin C, calcium, and potassium.  In my quest to fill our plates with colorful and unprocessed food, we eat sweet potatoes.  A LOT of them.  I like them plain, I like them with sea salt, I like them in chicken pot pie, I like them as a sauce on noodles.  I like them period.  So when I saw a recipe for sweet potato brownies a few weeks ago, I had to enlist my little baker to help me make these almost healthy brownies.  (I mean sugar is still sugar…)

We didn’t have all the ingredients readily available, so I used the recipe I found at Deliciously Ella as a starting off point and winged it.  I didn’t get a picture because we were rushing out the door and by the next day they were gone they were so good!  Here is a picture of Deliciously Ella’s brownies.  Mine looked very similar in texture and size.

Sweet Potato Brownies

Ingredients

Yields 20 brownies

  • 3 cups sweet potato (about 5 small potatoes already baked)
  • 3/4 cup almond or cashew butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup almond meal flour
  • 1/4 honey
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • sprinkling of cacao nibs or dairy free chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 flax egg (1T flaxmeal mixed with 1T water let to sit for 2 minutes before pouring into batter)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • Sea Salt to taste (for the top)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line an 8×8 baking pan with parchment paper, or lightly grease with coconut oil.

2. In a large bowl, mix together sweet potato, coconut oil, honey, almond milk, vanilla and the egg.

3. Then combine the cocoa, almond flour, cacao nibs/chocolate chips, cinnamon, and baking soda.

4. Add the cocoa mixture to the wet ingredients. Blend thoroughly. Pour brownie batter into baking pan. Bake for 28 to 30 minutes.

5. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

