Microfiber was a bad choice…

I have been cloth diapering for over two years now and I’ve made a huge mistake.

I have been trouble shooting a “stink problem” for months, which I’ll spare you the details on.  I sensed that my diapers just weren’t getting clean enough.  I’ve stripped them, switched detergent, sprayed them down in my sink with hot water, soaked them in funk rock, literally sprayed them down with a hose in my backyard.  The problem always went away for a week or so and then came back with a vengeance.

One afternoon, about two months ago, M got a really nasty diaper rash.  I put Lusa all over her cute little booty before bed time and put a fresh diaper on her bum.  In the morning she cried when I took off her diaper and there it was:  ammonia burns.  She’s been in disposables for the past two months.  (The honest disposables are admittedly easier, and cute and all, but holy cow are they outrageously expensive!)

Here’s the problem.  My HE washer just doesn’t get the diapers soaked enough to agitate the ammonia out of them.  75% of my inserts are microfiber.  Those puppies do a great job of sucking the liquid in, but they don’t release it very easily.  They need lots of water and tossing and turning in the water to release the ammonia in the pee.  No matter how clean my diapers smell coming out of the dryer, as soon as any liquid hits them, pee or not, they smell like pee.

In hindsight, I NEVER should have purchased any diapers with microfiber because of my HE washer.  That was a bad choice.  With that said, I still really like my Bum Genius diapers.  The covers have held up really well, I haven’t experienced leaks, and the fit is great for a one size diaper.  I could have sold my diaper covers, but I am going to keep them and just replace the microfiber inserts with organic cotton, hemp, or bamboo.  It’s going to be a little bit pricey.  It almost pains me to think about this, but I’m going cut the microfiber inserts out of my Bum Genius Freetimes.  The thought just makes me cringe.  Probably because they are the easiest cloth diapers and were a little pricey… But, I would never sell them due to the ammonia burns M experienced.  Once I cut out the inserts, I am pretty sure I can just add a couple of inserts to them and have a great overnight diaper.  I continue to be a huge fan of my Best Bottom diapers.  I actually prefer those for older babes.  They are a little bulky on little newborns, but fit my kiddos from 6 months on like a charm.  I have 4 Best Bottom covers that I love and will get organic cotton inserts for.  The insert snap in and they are seriously a breeze.  I am not a fan of stuffing!

 

So there you have it.  More than you wanted to know about my cloth diapering situation.  Just wanted to put out a warning to all the Mamas with HE machines!  I’ve made a huge mistake, microfiber was a bad choice!

Leave a Reply

