{Review} StichFix

I have a serious problem with my wardrobe these days.  I have some cute things that I love, but nothing I can wear to work.  My style is pretty comfy and casual:  jeans, tshirts, scarves, and flip flops.  I don’t really know what to wear to work, and still look like “me”, if that makes sense. 

 

Enter StitchFix.  I heard about it a few months ago, but kept forgetting to check out the specifics.  I have a global sales conference in August, and thought StitchFix might be able to help me with my work clothing dilemma before August.

I decided to sign up one night after the kids went to bed and I got completely engulfed.  As part of your “style profile” you can make a Pinterest board so your stylist can get to know you.  I think I stayed up until 2am doing my board.  It was so fun!  I love shopping in my bed.

So, here’s the deal with StitchFix:  Create Your Style Profile.  Get Five Hand-picked Items.  Keep What You Like.  Send Back the Rest.

I really like that you get to try your items on at home, with your own clothes!   No shopping with toddlers and babies!  Being able to try on items with things I already own was great!  That is my favorite part about StitchFix.  Each item comes with styling tips on how to dress it up or down.  It also comes with a personalized note from the stylist, explaining why she picked each item.

The returns are FREE.  Just check out online, and then drop off returns in the prepaid envelope within 3 days of receiving your box.  Did it.  Easy peasy. 

The styling fee is $20, but you can use towards your final order.  If you keep all five items, they’ll give you 25% off your entire order.  They say, on average, items are $65 and of really good quality.  I typically don’t pay $65 for just one item unless it is a staple and I am OBSESSED with it.  As for the quality…I would say 1/3 of my order was quality, the rest seemed like something I could purchase at H&M for $12.  I will be more specific on fabrics next time.

stitch july 3Overall I was a little bit disappointed with my box.  There were two items that I loved.  The stylist really nailed it with the “Alexia Chambray Belted Shirt Dress” and “Daphney Layered Ruffle Hem Knit Tank”.  Unfortunately the dress was way too big and looked a little “sister wives” if you catch my drift.  The tank top was really cute, and I wanted to keep it, but I already own something almost identical to it.  In the end, I decided to send it back. 

Stitch JulyStitch July 2

 

*crappy i-phone photos!  OOPS!  I didn’t even take a selfie in the jean dress it was so bad!

The other items in my box were the Tiara Ikat Print Silk Top, Carson Silk Front-Twist Sleeveless Blouse, and the Torin French Terry Stripe Blazer.  The blazer was cute and comfortable, almost a win, but the fit was off since I typically wear a petite.

So what’s the verdict?  I did get a couple of referral credits after I posted on facebook, so I am trying again in September!  I hope I get a box filled with sweater dresses, tights, and other cute fall apparel! 

Have you done StitchFix?  I’d love to hear your thoughts below!

What do you wear to work?  It really pains me to have to wear something other than jeans.  I should wear something non jean about 75% of the week.  Any ideas on comfortable, easy, and fun work attire please send me to your pinboard or comment below!

Leave a Reply

