Happy Father’s Day to my A+ Daddy

I can always count on my dad.  Always.  With Father’s Day fast approaching, I thought I needed to give my daddy a little love.

I guess I should start out with the fact that everyone loves my Dad.  He’s just the type of person that you notice when he walks into a room.  He has that thing, whatever it is…but my favorite thing about him is that he cares about people.  I mean he REALLY cares.  He would do anything for most people.  He always leaves a conversation with “if there is anything I can ever do for you, you let me know”.  And he actually means it.  He is a teacher and coach.  It’s what he does, but it’s also what he stands for.  Being the daughter of two teachers was sometimes embarrassing, frustrating, and awesome all at the same time.  I know that my parents have made a difference in thousands of lives.  I respect and admire them for it.  My Dad has shaped the type of person I am and the kind of Mom I am.  Along with his tenacity, passion for life, and his  “shit eating grin” as my mom calls it, he always has my back.  Sidenote, genetics at work here, Jack has the shit eating grin too.

I have the best memories of him driving us to school when I was in middle school.  We listened to oldies while I sat in the front seat with my feet on the heaters.  I think I love oldies mostly because of those memories.  It could also be because of his rendition of “White Christmas” or the “dance unit” in 7th grade that he so wonderfully embarrassed me during 🙂   Jack and I listen to the 60’s and 70’s station on Pandora when I get home from work and dance together.  Jack is now embarrassed by my signing at the age of almost 3.  (“you’re out of batteries mommy!”)

He was at every game, every tournament, every recital cheering us on and making us be our best always.   He mowed us a baseball diamond in our backyard and I know he hates mowing the lawn!  When he tried to teach me to mow the lawn I got it all wrong with him running and yelling behind me telling me straighten it out.  I was doing it on purpose because I didn’t want to mow the lawn.  He knew that and still loves me.  He taught me how to have a competitive spirit and to be anything we wanted to be.  He’s funny.  My response when someone asks me how I am now is “Hey, If I were any better I’d be you”  Classic Crock!  He leaves me voicemails all the time just tell me he misses me and loves me.

And for the girls, who probably don’t read my blog, but if they did would kill me for not mentioning “the speech”.   Every time I left the house in high school my dad told me and any of my girlfriends that were over “boys want one thing and one thing only”.  And yeah he was right.  We still crack up about that to this day.
So thanks Dad for putting me on the right path, setting a great example, and being you.  Happy Father’s Day and Gagi’s Day!  We love you!
2 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day to my A+ Daddy

Leave a Reply

