New Year Mantra

Last year I used a mantra for the new year, instead of setting a resolution or goal.  A mantra is just a fancy term for something you repeat while meditating or in situations to pull you away for reflection.

I am in love with my 2013 mantra.  It really helped me put things into perspective.

{Be Kind To Yourself and to Others.   Let Go, Have Less, Do More, Try More, Be More}

I’m not saying I’ve been even close to perfect with the mantra from last year, but having a mantra was calming and reminded me of how I want to react to certain situations.

My cousin posted a quote by Martin Luther King Jr on facebook yesterday.

“Never, never be afraid to do what’s right, especially if the well-being of a person or animal is at stake.  Society’s punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.”

―Martin Luther King Jr.

It was rather timely for me, as I’d just watched the documentary, Blackfish, the night before on netflix.  I have always loved dolphins and whales.  My favorite christmas present, one year, was a big book about sea life.  Free Willy was one of my favorite movies, and I dreamt of swimming with the dolphins.  When we went on a family vacation to Oregon, we stopped and saw Keiko in his rehab tank before they released him into the wild.  We were all so excited that he was going to be released into the wild.  (ok, I was so passionate about it that I think I rubbed off a bit on my parents and brother)

On our honeymoon, we decided to swim with the dolphins.  I was ecstatic.  Finally, I would get to see the animals up close.  As soon as we got there, I knew something was wrong.  The tank looked like a large public pool.  The dolphins were behind a grate in an even smaller area and had scratches all over them.  There was a walrus standing and posing with people for pictures.  We should have walked out right then, but we didn’t.  We got in the water and swam with the dolphins.   I could see the pain in their eyes.  One dolphin actually jumped out of the tank while we were there.  I am still haunted by the look the of the walrus.  He just looked numb.  I knew it was wrong and I should have said something and left, but I didn’t.  I won’t make that mistake again.

That was really hard to write, but I’ve come away with a new perspective and an updated mantra for the new year.

2014 Mantra

{Be kind to yourself and to others, let go, have less, do more, try more, be more}

{Never, never be afraid to do what’s right}

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “New Year Mantra

Leave a Reply

