Upcycled Sock Monkey Costume

My mom sewed all of my Halloween costumes.  This was particularly handy for me in college…(Boilermakers you know what I’m talking about!)  I always loved having unique and special costumes and wanted to continue that tradition for Jack.

Here’s the thing though…I’m not awesome at sewing, I have zero patience for patterns, and although I took sewing for an entire YEAR in high school, I can’t remember a darn thing.  Needless to say, I have to get a little bit creative.

Last year, I was planning on making Jack a sock monkey.  That quickly turned into “Sock Monkey Pirate”.  I had an epic fail on the top and hat.  The only reasonably priced sock monkey hat I could find had an eye patch, so we went with it.

DIY Sock Monkey Pirate

*As I mentioned before I don’t really sew… This tutorial is really good, but since I lack sewing skills it took a lot of trial and error to get it right.

Tips for the thrift store:

1.  Start in the Men’s section.  My sweater ended up being WAY too small.  Go with the biggest you can find!

2.  If you’re a novice sewer, pick a darker color to hide your mistakes.

3.  Have a model.  I brought the monkey with me so I could make sure I was on the right track.

DSC_0228 DSC_0219

Check out what we’re thinking for Halloween costumes this year!

One thought on “Upcycled Sock Monkey Costume

Leave a Reply

