Weeknight Dinner: Southwest Sloppy Joe’s

Meal planning stresses me out. This sounds so stupid, but I seriously had no clue how to plan my meals for the week and go to the store once.  When you don’t plan ahead, it makes cooking extremely time consuming and hard.

When Jack started solids and I had to feed someone other than myself (and it couldn’t be cereal or poptarts for dinner) I had to get it together.  I had no clue where to start, so I tried the Fresh 20 .  I thought it would be a good way to teach myself how to meal plan while still allowing me to put in minimal effort.  It worked.  Following their weekly meal plans for a few months helped me figure out how to get organized enough to hit the store once and have enough food for MEALS for the week.  It also taught me how to cook because it included detailed, easy instructions.

I am still a fresh 20 member even though I don’t follow their weekly plans.  Their recipes are easy and healthy and I am now organized enough to pick from their recipes and other recipes to do my own plans.

AND Big Bonus:  We no longer have the problem of lots of food, but nothing to make a meal out of…most of the time.

Below is one of my go to weekday recipes from The Fresh 20.  Everyone loves it as you can see below!

Southwest Sloppy Joe’s

1 Tablespoon Grapeseed Oil
1/2 Onion Chopped
2 Carrots peeled and shredded
1 lb Ground Turkey
2 cloves garlic minced
2 tsp Herbs de Provence
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/2 C organic Tomato Paste
1/2 C water
Cilantro to taste roughly chopped about 1/2 a bunch
1 Tablespoon Pure Maple Syrup
4 Whole Wheat Buns

1.  Heat pan over medium heat and add garlic, onion, and carrot.  Saute until onion is translucent.  About 2 minutes.

2.  Add turkey meat and spices.  Heat until meat is browned.  about 10 minutes.

3.  Add tomato paste and water.  Stir and turn down heat to low.  Simmer 5 minutes.

4.  turn off heat and stir in maple syrup and cilantro

5.  Place meat in buns. Top ours with a bit of greek yogurt and an avocado slice.

I typically serve this with sweet potato “fries” and a fruit salad.

2 thoughts on “Weeknight Dinner: Southwest Sloppy Joe’s

  1. That was our problem too! Fresh20 frequently has groupons for 50% off. I would wait for the groupon if you're going to join. the last one was in May and I expect they'll have another in the early Fall. I'm not going to lie, I have a crazy nerdy food binder now…

Leave a Reply

