Patriotic Pie

Happy 4th of July!

And… Ok…this is just a recipe for Strawberry Pie.  Since I’m making it on July 4th, I’m calling it patriotic.  (since it’s red duh).  This is my Mom’s recipe and my first attempt at it.

Strawberry Pie

Ingredients
*Pillsbury Ready Made Pie Crust
6 Cups Strawberries
3 Tablespoons Cornstarch
1 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup Water

Directions:
1.  Bake pie crust according to directions.  Let it back and cool while you’re completing the rest of the steps.
2.  Wash and cut your Strawberries.  You should have about 6 cups after cutting.
3.  Measure 1 Cup of strawberries and mash them with a potato masher.
4.  Mix 1 C sugar with 3 tablespoons cornstarch
5.  Pour Mashed berries in saucepan then cover with sugar cornstarch mixture and 1/2 C of water
6.  Cook and stir constantly until thick and boiling.  You will see it start to thicken and turn a bright red in color.  It should take about 1-2 minutes of boiling.  Turn of heat set aside and cool.  
7.  Fill bottom of pie shell with berries and pour heated berry mixture on top
8.  Refrigerate 2 hours before serving

Serve with whipped cream or ice cream on top!


* I’m suggesting Pillsbury crust because I used some cheap ass off brand and it didn’t even fill up my standard sized pie plate.  (See in the pic?!)  I should have listened to Mom!  Get the Pillsbury… 

2 thoughts on “Patriotic Pie

  1. Megan, I love your blog, and I enjoy all your posts and the variety you give on your blog! Have you ever turned this into a true pie with a pie crust on top? Thanks for providing the tip of buying Pillsbury for this recipe. I've used the generic for a "homemade" pot pie, and it was fine, FYI. P.S. I equally enjoy our emails about babies, mommyhood, and diapers. David said to me the other day "You guys are like best email friends."

  2. Thanks Rachel! I really enjoy your blog too! I have never turned this pie into a pie with a crust on top. I'm not sure how you could do that since you bake the pie crust in advance… Question for Jill! I usually make a crumble for the top of a pie if I'm doing apple or blueberry. I've never tried with strawberry before! I'll send you the crumble recipe. If you're looking for an awesome and quick chicken pot pie, I'll post a recipe when this heat stops and I can make it without passing out in the kitchen! Too funny my Dave said the same thing to me the other day about our long emails!

Leave a Reply

