Birthday Week

I’m a birthday person.  Actually, I’m a celebration in general person, but I love a nice long birthday week.  My Mom always made our birthdays so special when we were growing up.  Treats at school, creative parties with themes, and of course cake and ice cream.  One of the best parties my Mom planned wasn’t even for me, but I remember having so much fun.  It was my brother’s Olympic themed summer birthday party.  He must have been turning 6 or 7.  I remember my mom crafting Olympic rings out of pool noodles and there being an awesome obstacle course in the backyard, including a mowed baseball diamond courtesy of Dad!

Many of you may find this hard to believe, especially my husband, but I get way more excited about Jack’s birthday now than my own.  I have to keep in mind that he is just two and probably won’t remember, but I want him to have a special day (ok lots of special days!) and some birthday traditions.

Last year my little baby turned 1 and I made him a special book to read on his birthday.  The theme was “Red, White, and Blue on The Farm”  We celebrated with family at my parents house and it was wonderful.

 

I cannot believe my snuggly little monkey is turning 2.  Now that he’s not a baby anymore it’s probably time to share Jack’s birth story, but that’s for another post.

This year, Jack is into trains. His party theme is “Chugga Chugga Choo Choo Jack’s Turning Two!”.  Oh wait.  I forgot I had to change the theme to “Things That Go”.  In my whirl wind stop at World Market they didn’t have any train treat bags or plain treat bags so I went with bicycle treat bags.  It’s a good thing Birthdays are all about the thought counting.  If it’s from the heart, you can’t go wrong.  We’ll be celebrating this year a bit after his birthday.  Jack is sharing some treats with his school friends tomorrow since there is a break between this week and summer session starting.  Choo Choo Cookies and Wooden Train Whistles in Bicycle Bags.  Haha.

Leave a Reply

