Cowboy Spaghetti

I pinned this recipe a long time ago and wasn’t sure if I would ever make it.  I’m not a big ground beef person and I’m not really a huge fan of Rachel Ray recipes.  Actually, I’m not even sure why I pinned it in the first place.  Top that off with my wicked aversion to any ground meat right now and you would think I wouldn’t even attempt this one.

Well.. Dave did the shopping and ground beef was my sole choice to craft into an actual meal.  When you have a pretty bare fridge and all the necessary ingredients on hand for a recipe,  I guess you just go with it.  This turned out to be a nice surprise.  It tastes sort of like my favorite Cincinnati meal, Skyline 3 Way Chili.  It was simple, easy, and took less than 30 minutes.

I followed the recipe exactly but got a little tricky for the benefit of the Jack Mac.  Yes, I blended up kale and chopped up some carrots and added it to the meat!  (add these ingredients when you add the onion and garlic to the meat)  Shh…don’t tell my boys or they will never eat another meal I make again!  Whatever I’ve gotta do to get those veggies in him!

It doesn’t look pretty but it was good!  PS we’re in the process of replacing our non stick cookware with cast iron.  Any suggestions on brands?

Rachel Ray’s Cowboy Spaghetti

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound spaghetti 
  • Salt 
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
  • 3 slices smoky bacon, chopped 
  • 1 pound ground sirloin 
  • 1 medium onion, chopped 
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, chopped 
  • Freshly ground black pepper 
  • 2 teaspoons hot sauce (eyeball it) 
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce (eyeball it )
  • 1/2 cup beer 
  • 1 can fire-roasted tomatoes (14 ounces), choppedor crushed
  • 1 can tomato sauce (8 ounces)
  • 8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese
  • 4 scallions, chopped
Serves 4

PREPARATION

Heat a pot of water to a boil. Add the spaghetti and salt the water. Cook to al dente.
Heat a deep skillet over medium-high heat. Add the EVOO and bacon. Brown and crisp the bacon for 5 minutes, then remove with a slotted spoon. Drain off a little excess fat if necessary, leaving just enough to coat the bottom of the skillet. Add the ground sirloinand crumble it as it browns, 3-4 minutes.

Add the onion and garlic and stir into the meat. Season the meat with salt and pepper, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Add 1/2 cup beer and deglaze the pan. Cook for 5-6 minutes more, then stir in the tomatoes and tomato sauce.

Add the hot spaghetti to the meat and sauce and combine. Adjust the seasonings and serve up thepasta in shallow bowls. Grate some cheese over the pasta and sprinkle with scallions. Garnish with crisp bacon.
Leave a Reply

